Preskočiť na menu Preskočiť na obsah Preskočiť na pätičku

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development - OECD

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development - OECD (OECD, is an international organization that provides a forum in which member countries can discuss the economic policies relating to sustainable economic growth, employment and environment. The main topics include pros and cons of the global economy, corporate governance issues, creation jobs, foster strong education, fight international tax evasion, need for adjustment of financing in economic and social fields.

One of the most relevant task of the OECD includes elaboration of professional studies and statistics about main economic indicators and peer country review. The official economic surveys of the OECD member countries are published every 18 - 24 months

The OECD headquarters is in Paris.

Members: 38 member states

  • Original member states are (1961) Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, the Netherlands, Iceland, Ireland, Canada, Luxembourg, Germany, Norway, Portugal, Austria, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States of America,  Italy (1962). Members through accession are Japan (1964), Finland (1969), Australia (1971), New Zealand (1973), Mexico (1994), the Czech Republic (1995), Poland (1996), Hungary (1996), the Republic of Korea (1996), the Slovak Republic (2000). Chile, Estonia, Israel and Slovenia acceded to OECD in 2010. In 2016 Latvia and in 2018 Lithuania became full members.

There are OECD specialized committees and working groups (or fora, sub-groups, panels) which contribute to the work of the OECD. Decision-making power is vested in the OECD Council. It is made up of one representative per member country, where Slovakia is represented by Head of Permanent Delegation of the Slovak Republic to the OECD in Paris. 

Slovak Republic and the OECD

The Slovak Republic officially deposited the Instrument of Accession with the French Government as the depositor of the OECD and subsequently became the member of the OECD on 14 December 2000. 

The 2019 OECD Ministerial Council Meeting (MCM) assembled on 22-23 May, 2019 under the Presidency of the Slovak Republic focused on the theme of “Harnessing Digital Transition for Sustainable Development: Opportunities and Challenges”.

Ministry of Finance of the Slovak Republic is represented in the following Committees:  

Slovakia and OECD


Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
2, rue André Pascal
FR - 75775 Paris Cedex 16

Permanent Delegation of the Slovak Republic to the OECD
28, Avenue d´Eylau
FR - 75016 Paris

Facebook Flickr Instagram LinkedIn Rss Twitter YouTube